Faculty

Tanja Collet-NajemDr. Tanja Collet-Najem
Associate Professor of French Studies
Office 2150 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2071
tcollet@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Linguistics: Lexicology; Discourse Analysis; Languages & Texts for Special Purposes; Applied Linguistics.

Nathalie DolbecDr. Nathalie Dolbec
Associate Professor of French Studies
Office 2152 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2072
ndolbec@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Literature of Francophone Canada; Migrant Writing in Francophone Canada (Literature of the Holocaust); Narratology; Theory of Description.

Patricia FaganDr. Patricia Fagan 
Associate Professor of Greek and Roman Studies
Office 2164B Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2874
pfagan@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Languages; Literature; Culture; Epic; Myth; Oral Traditional Poetics; Greek Philosophy; Greek Political Thought.

Jean-Guy MboudjekeDr. Jean-Guy Mboudjeke
Associate Professor of French Studies
Office 2145 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2879
mbou@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Translation studies; Contrastive discourse analysis; Language policy; Linguistics; Sociolinguistics; Pragmatics.

Mustapha HamilDr. Mustapha Hamil
Associate Professor of French Studies and Arabic Studies
Office 2172 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2895
mhamil@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Postcolonial Literature and Culture of the Middle East and North Africa; Arabic and French Language and Literature.

Max NelsonDr. Max Nelson 
Associate Professor of Greek and Roman Studies
Office 2163 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2886
mnelson@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Roman History; Latin; Classical Tradition; Beer; Movies; Games.

Antonio RossiniDr. Antonio Rossini
Department Head
Associate Professor of Italian Studies
Office 2155 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2873
arossini@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise
Languages; Classics; Dante; Divine Comedy; Italian Studies; Great Books; Middle Ages; Renaissance; Italian Cinema; Bible Studies.

Giuliana SalvatoDr. Giuliana Salvato
Associate Professor of Italian Studies
Office 2156 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2064
gsalvato@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Second Language Acquisition; Gesture Studies; Multilingualism; General Linguistics; Italian Linguistics; Romance Languages.

Victor Sevillano CanicioDr. Victor Sevillano Canicio
Associate Professor of Germanic and Hispanic Studies.
Office 2165 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2073
vsevilla@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Germanic Studies; Hispanic Studies; Spanish Literature; Spanish History; Spanish Theatre; Spanish Media; Bilingualism; Second Language Acquisition.

Judith Sinanga-OhlmannDr. Judith Sinanga-Ohlmann
Associate Professor of French Studies
Office 2147 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2063
ohlmann@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Francophone African Literature; French Language Training; Diaspora and Exile.

Robert WeirDr. Robert Weir
Associate Professor of Greek and Roman Studies
Office 2158 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2875
rweir@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
Languages; Classics; Mediterranean Archaeology; Ancient Greece; Greek History; Greek Language; Ancient Rome; Latin; Roman History; Ancient Coins; Ancient Athletics.

Jeremy WorthDr. Jeremy Worth
Associate Professor of French Studies
Office 2164A Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2878
jworth@uwindsor.ca

Area of Expertise:
19th Century French Literature: Realism and Naturalism; Postmodernism; Theories of Identity and Subjectivity.


Sessional Lecturer

Lorenzo BujDr. Lorenzo Buj (Modern Languages)
Office 2161 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2404
lzb@uwindsor.ca

Rita Bison (Italian Stream)
Office 2162 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2880
rbison@uwindsor.ca

Jelena Primorac (Spanish Stream)
Office 2141 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2877
jpo@uwindsor.ca

 


Sessional Instructor

John CappucciJohn Cappucci (Diaspora Studies and Religion)
Office Assumption Hall, Room 206
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 3576
jfc@uwindsor.ca


Jean-Pierre de VillersJean-Pierre de Villers (French Studies)
Office 2139 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2068
deville@uwindsor.ca

Christine Knapp (French Studies)
Office 2159 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2885
cknapp@uwindsor.ca

Sara Escobar-Wiercinski (Spanish Stream)
Office 2160 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2399
saraw@uwindsor.ca

Anita Toronyi (German Stream)
Office 2160 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2822
atoronyi@uwindsor.ca

Judy Xu (Oriental Studies)
Office 2159 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2862
zxu@uwindsor.ca

Tom Yaari (Jewish Studies)
Office 2139 Chrysler Hall North
Phone (519) 253-3000 ext 2070
Tom.Yaari@uwindsor.ca

 


Adjunct Professor

Dr. Dora Katsonopoulou
Greek and Roman Studies
Ph.D. Cornell University, Greece


Professor Emeriti

  • Dr. Stephen Bertman - Greek and Roman Studies
  • Dr. Harry Bird - Greek and Roman Studies
  • Dr. Jean-Pierre de Villers - French Studies
  • Dr. Charles Fantazzi - Greek and Roman Studies and Modern Languages (Italian Stream)
  • Dr. Linda Feldman - Modern Languages (German Stream)
  • Dr. Veronica Fraser - French Studies
  • Dr. J. Norman King - Religious Studies
  • Dr. Basil D. Kingstone - French Studies
  • Dr. Dietmar Lage - Religion and Culture
  • Dr. Ljubo Majhanovich - Slavic Studies
  • Dr. Mahesh Mehta - Asian Studies
  • Dr. Moshé Starets - French Studies
  • Dr. Walter Temelini - Modern Languages (Italian Stream)
  • Dr. Adrian van den Hoven - French Studies
  • Dr. Rosanna Vitale - Modern Languages (Spanish Stream)
  • Dr. Susan Wendt-Hildebrandt - Modern Languages (German Stream)
  • Dr. Barry Whitney - Religion and Culture