Jurists preside over moot competition

Windsor Law welcomed a distinguished panel of jurists to preside over the final round of its 50th annual Zuber Moot Competition, Nov. 21. 

For the first time, the event put on the bench a Supreme Court of Canada judge: Sheilah Martin, as well as Court of Appeal for Ontario judges Michael Tulloch and Steve Coroza, and Superior Court of Ontario judge Renee Pomerance. 

A video presentation of a fireside chat by the moot’s founder, retired judge and former Windsor Law professor Thomas G. Zuber, was a highlight of the 50th anniversary celebration. 

In mooting, student teams are presented with a legal issue which they must argue in front of a judge or panel of judges. This year, 84 students competed for a spot as one of the finalists. Preliminary round awards went to Joyce Dayson and Andre Nguyen for best factum, and Taylor Brand and Gabrielle Bayne for honourable mention oralists. 

This year’s finalists are Meganne MacFarlane and Kate Hunter representing the appellants and Jared Colthurst and Christina Sutrov who advocated for the respondent in the appeal of R v Tessier, 2022 SCC 35 at the Supreme Moot Court of Windsor. 

The bench reserved its decision and named Colthurst and Hunter top oralists. 

The event, organized by committee members Abbey James, Andrew Boyes, Neil La Marca, Tish Lewis, and Quinn Finlay, concluded with a reception sponsored by Zuber & Company LLP

File Attachments: