The University of Windsor has moved to an “essential service only” model. Learn More.

GATA Awards Description and Criteria

GATA Awards

Nominations invited for GA/TA Awards

Two GA/TA Awards for Educational Practice and one GA/TA Award for Educational Leadership
Deadline: May 25, 2020

The Centre for Teaching and Learning is calling for nominations for the GA/TA Awards for Educational Practice (up to 2 will be awarded) and the GA/TA Award for Educational Leadership (1 will be awarded) recognizing contributions from graduate and teaching assistants to the University's learning environment. The GA/TA Awards for Educational Practice and the GA/TA Award for Educational Leadership aim to:

  • recognize and honour exemplary GAs and TAs who contribute to a positive, learning-centred environment at the University of Windsor;
  • inspire GAs and TAs to recognize their potential for excellence in educational practice and leadership, and motivate them to transform that potential into reality; and
  • publicize examples of excellence in GA/TA educational practice and leadership that can inform the practices of all teachers, while contributing to student and faculty pride in teaching and learning at the University of Windsor.


  • The GA/TA must be currently employed at the University of Windsor or have been employed in the previous 12 months of the call for nominations.
  • The GA/TA may still be nominated if he or she has previously won another teaching award (for example, at the department level).

Nomination Process

  • A GA/TA who meets the eligibility criteria may be nominated by a past or present student of the GA/TA, or by a colleague, faculty member, or staff member. GA/TAs may not nominate themselves.
  • Any nominee who wishes to meet with the CTL for consultation and advice regarding dossier preparation is encouraged to contact Dr. Pierre Boulos at the email address below.
  • Late nominations will not be accepted.

The deadline for nominations is May 25, 2020 at 5:00 PM. Questions and comments may be directed to Dr. Pierre Boulos,