Systems Outage Information: Click here to visit

2010 Award Descriptions


The North American Society for Sport Management Distinguished Sport Management Educator Award

  • Recognizes exceptional contributions to teaching; sustained commitment to the improvement and quality of teaching and learning in the sport management disciplines; and sustained commitment to one's own professional learning

The Wagner Award

  • Dr. Robert Boucher was presented the Wagner Award for his involvement in the introduction of the first Masters of Sport Management program in Holland. Dr. Boucher’s passion for the new program was incredibly important for its development and contribution to the sports industry in Holland and Europe.


Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Associations (OCUFA) Award

  • Established in 1973
  • Recognizes teachers who embrace virtually all levels of instruction – graduate and undergraduate teaching, continuing education, and faculty development, and those whose instruction extends well beyond the classroom
  • Acknowledges those who excel in course design, curriculum development, organization of teaching programs, and other significant forms of leadership

Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance Award

  • Acknowledges professors who have made a significant contribution to teaching excellence, facilitating a positive learning experience for students in Ontario


Alumni Award for Distinguished Contributions to University Teaching

  • Awarded by the University of Windsor Alumni Association
  • Awarded annually at Spring Convocation
  • Honours and recognizes excellence in teaching on campus

Excellence in Mentoring Award

  • Awarded by the University of Windsor Alumni Association
  • Sponsored by Patrick Palmer (Class of 1970)
  • Recognizes faculty who offer personal, academic, and/or professional guidance to students, and make a significant contribution to their all-around development up to and following graduation


Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Kathleen E. McCrone Teaching Award

  • Recognizes teaching performance in the classroom and availability and help provided to students outside the classroom; and/or the introduction and successful application of innovative teaching methods


University of Windsor Students’ Alliance (UWSA) Teacher of the Year

  • Promotes and recognizes professors who demonstrate outstanding dedication to the education of students

OPUS Teacher of the Year Award

  • Initiated in 2006 to recognize professors who demonstrate outstanding dedication to part-time students, helping them to achieve academic excellence and greater learning
  • Based on letters submitted by students, the OPUS Evaluations, and teacher evaluation and ratings

Organization of Part-Time Students (OPUS) Faculty Award

  • Initiated in 1992 to recognize and applaud the efforts of faculty members who unselfishly assist part-time students in their efforts to achieve academic excellence
  • Recognizes teaching accomplishments that may include, but are not limited to, effectiveness in large-class teaching, effective implementation of teaching and learning innovations, or development of materials for flexible learning and delivery
  • A maximum of three faculty members may receive recognition for their teaching accomplishments

Students’ Law Society Faculty Award

  • Presented to the two professors who most exemplify the attributes of an exceptional teacher for the school year in question

Hon. Justice Robert Abbey Award for Outstanding Special Lecturer

  • Presented to the sessional instructor who most exemplifies the attributes of an exceptional teacher for the school year in question
  • In 2010, this award was renamed the Hon. Justice Robert Abbey Award for Outstanding Special Lecturer in honour of the 2010 recipient, the late Justice Robert J. Abbey.

Commerce Society Professor of the Year

  • Presented to professors in Finance, Accounting, Management, Management Science, and Marketing who demonstrate excellence in their teaching and recognizes their outstanding overall career contributions to students
  • Awarded by the business undergraduate student body

Commerce Society Sessional Instructor of the Year

  • Presented to the sessional instructor who best exemplifies the attributes of an exceptional teacher and influences  the lives and careers of his or her students


  • Established by the CTL, the GA/TA Awards recognize exemplary GAs and TAs who contribute to a positive learning-centred environment at the University
  • Winners are selected by a seven-member committee comprised of three University of Windsor faculty, three GA/TAs, and a non-voting staff member of the CTL