Political Science at UWindsor

Contact Us


The offices of the Department of Political Science are open Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm.

Dr. John Sutcliffe, Department Head

Email: sutclif@uwindsor.ca

Phone: 519-253-3000 ext 2347 or ext 2360

Office: Chrysler Hall North 1147

Dr. John Sutcliffe is Professor in the Department of Political Science. Originally from Scotland, Dr. Sutcliffe has been at the University of Windsor since 2000.

Dr. Jim Wittebols

Dr. Jesse Salah Ovadia, Graduate Chair (currently on leave)

Dr. Jesse Ovadia is Professor in the Department of Political Science and Chair of the department's Graduate Program. Dr. Ovadia's research interests are: research concerns policies that promote state-led development such as local content policies in oil and gas as well as the politics that surrounds their implementation. (Currently on Leave as of July 1, 2022)

Dr. Lydia Miljan

Dr. Lydia Miljan, Graduate Chair (Interim)

Email: lmiljan@uwindsor.ca 

Phone: 519-253-3000 ext 2361

Office: Chrysler Hall North 1155

Dr. Miljan is Professor of Political Science. Her area of interest is Canadian public policy, elections, and political communication. During the 2023-24 academic year she is the Chair of the Graduate program.

Office hours for the Fall semester are held virtually. Students can book and appointment through Political Science Bookings (office365.com). Simply select the box indicated for Dr. Miljan. If those times don’t suit, send an email to lmiljan@uwindsor.ca for an appointment.

Dr. Elena Maltseva, Undergraduate Chair

Email. elena.maltseva@uwindsor.ca

Phone: 519-253-3000 ext. 2175

Office: Chrysler Hall North 1158
Elena Maltseva is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and Undergraduate Chair.  Dr. Maltseva specializes in comparative politics and public policy of post-Soviet states, with particular focus on gender and left-wing politics in post-Soviet states, post-Soviet social security reforms and globalization, protests and regime stability in Russia and Central Asia.
Office Hours effective September 6th to December 22, 2022 are as follows:
Mondays 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. (regular drop-in hours, Chrysler Hall North, room 1158)
Thursdays - 12:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. (virtual office hours) via Microsoft Teams. Please visit the link below (copy and paste into your browser), select Instructor Office Hours, then click on my name from the drop-down list and pick a date and time for the appointment.
Please send me an email if you have any questions.

Lindsay Gore, Secretary to the Head

Email: Lindsay.Gore@uwindsor.ca 

Phone: 519-253-3000 ext 2347

Office: Chrysler Hall North 1143

Sandy Gomes, Graduate and Undergraduate Secretary

Email: sgomes@uwindsor.capolsci@uwindsor.ca or polscigrad@uwindsor.ca

Phone: 519-253-3000 ext 2348

Office: Chrysler Hall North 1149

Academic Counselling

Our Academic Counsellors are available by appointment only via email requests